NBA 2k18- Hates Me… NBA FINALS EDITION

Let me tell you about a tale of a man who failed at a boycott, gave 2K money and immediately regretted it. 2k gave me a Steam coupon for 75% off of the game. It is the first time I have ever received anything via a Steam item that was worthwhile. 75% off made the game 15 dollars. At 15 dollars, having the newest NBA game (even if it’s inferior to Live) is hard for me to pass up.

Patrick-Ewing

Full disclosure. I bought this game for one reason, the My TEAM section finally has am affordable Patrick Ewing card. Every year they always have some ungodly 99 diamond select card. Last year Ewing cards were so expensive that I (having played regularly for months and putting in real money never came close to one). I want a mid to low tier Ewing card. An 80 Knicks card for fans who need something affordable. Jordan has a million affordable cards every year. I just want one Ewing.

8492i1

Finally, 2K kind of threw me a bone….they have a 79 Ewing that I think must be affordable. In 2k, after playing regularly everybody has teams full of 99 rates players so anything below that is cheap on the auction block. I say 2k kind of threw me a bone because the monsters made it a Supersonics Ewing card.

 

Who wants That? Sonics fans? Because those are extinct. Die hard Knicks fans and Ewing fans pretend the Sonics trade and magic era didn’t exist. It’s like an Olajuwon card for the Raptors…gross. BUT with MyTeam I can use Knicks jerseys and still have a dope Ewing to play with.

 

sad hakeem raptors

All that said, when I boot up 2K and try to go the auction house they force me to do some challenges. Fine. I’ll do tutorials. It’s a single player mode I enjoy and I need to learn the new controls right? Wrong. These bastards force me to play a full 5 minute 4 quarter multiplayer game online. Beyong the fact that it is going to take me 20 minutes plus clock stoppage to play the game, I’m using the tutorial free team against people who have been playing for months and accumulated 99 super teams. I play the first game and quit like 2 quarters in because I’m down 20. I paused the game and forfeited. In 2K you get a demerit for quitting…like the other player was up 50 with a half left. He was bored and so was I! In Madden you can choose to forfeit a game and the other player can agree, you take the L they get the W and we all leave happy. Not in 2K, these villains want to make you play the entire game to complete the challenge. I have no choice. If I want to even look at the auction house I have to complete these challenges. The lack of respect for my time is unreal. I use myteam team as a single player mode. I hate playing online, I don’t have time for that. 2K just hates the player. Let me do what I want.

sad ewing sonic

 

The real shame here is that the game looks great, plays fine and has a lot of cards to pick from. I should love this game for 15 bones but instead I’ve had to lose an online game and languish through a bunch of challenges to not even get near my goal of Ewing and a Knicks team to use in single player challenges. 2K sucks. I never should have bought it. I’ll let you know if I ever get Ewing. 

SnapShot18-1200x675

UPDATE- I got Ewing. It sucks…he’s number 6 instead of 33. I respect his Olympic career but even with a Knicks uniform on, he doesn’t look right without 33….

Leave a comment